Owen Gubbins

Associate of Metec Senior Mechanical Engineer
B.Eng (Tech), BEng (Hons), CIBSE

Hi, my name is Owen Gubbins. I am a Senior Mechanical Engineer & Associate at Metec Consulting Engineers.


I graduated in Building services Engineering from DIT Bolton Street in 2006 and 2008 with Ordinary and First-Class Honours Degrees.


Whilst at college I worked with Keaveny Engineering Services developing valuable experience while studying. Following college, I worked full time for Keaveny Engineering Services. At this stage, the Global Financial Crises was looming large and in 2009 I relocated to Australia. I spent 6 years in Australia and worked for a mechanical contractor as a Project Manager fulfilling several roles including estimating, coordination, procurement, cost control and project delivery. During my time in Australia I delivered a wide range of projects both public and private.


I joined Metec in July 2015 and I have 14 years’ experience in total. I have experience in design consultancy and contracting with roles including project management, design, cost management, M & E services coordination and estimating. Currently my role within in Metec is Senior Mechanical Engineer & Associate and I am responsible for the design and management of a wide range of projects from start to finish. Previous standout projects include BD Cumberland House, Verizon, Horizon, IBM and Quantum Business Park. My interests include football, hiking and cooking.


Given my wide and varied experience in both Contracting and Design Consultancy, I have gathered a detailed knowledge of a variety of projects from inception through planning, design and construction to final completion along with the associated project management and cost control required for the delivery of a successful project.


My favourite part of my job would be the Construction phase of projects; putting our designs into action and realising the end result can provide great satisfaction. I enjoy the general interaction with the wider teams across the industry and trades.

Who am I?

I am married to Karen and we have two girls, Kate & Hannah. We live in our hometown of Greystones where we both grew up. Having relocated to Australia together, we returned home in 2015, got married, built a house and started a family. It has been a busy few years!


Having built a house, I have a keen interest in DIY and always have a ‘project’ on the go. I also enjoy cooking and entertaining. Hiking is another hobby I enjoy and I have several counties highest peaks ticked off the list to date.


I am a big sports fan and I enjoy watching a wide range of sports as well as playing soccer weekly.